W. Craig Havenner

School of Business Community Partner | W. Craig Havenner
Titles and Organizations

Partner, The Christopher Companies


Craig Havenner retired as President, but remains Partner, in a locally owned and operated residential and commercial building and development company based in Oakton, Virginia. The company is currently developing and constructing residential and commercial projects located in most Northern Virginia jurisdictions; Charlottesville, Virginia; and Sussex County, Delaware. The company is well respected within the communities it serves and has won numerous local and national awards for their projects. As President, Mr. Havenner was responsible for land planning, development, product design, construction, and customer service. Mr. Havenner joined the Christopher Companies in 1993 after nine years with the Artery Organization where he served as Vice President-Division Manager. Prior to joining Artery, Mr. Havenner managed Park Construction Operations for Fairfax County Park Authority. During his career, he managed the development and construction of several thousand condominiums, townhomes, garden apartments, and single-family homes in the Washington, D.C., area.

Mr. Havenner is a 1979 graduate of Purdue University with a degree in construction management. A native of Northern Virginia, he is married and has resided in the City of Fairfax with his family since 1980. He is actively involved in professional and community organizations, including Northern Virginia Building Industry Association (NVBIA), where he is a Past President and was named "Builder of the Year" in 2002, and the Home Builder's Association of Virginia (HBAV), where he currently serves as a Build-Pac Trustee. He is a past member of the Executive Committee, two term legislative chair, and served as HBAV President in 2016. In addition, he presently serves as a member of the George Mason University School of Business Center for Real Estate Entrepreneurship Advisory Board, and was a member of The City of Fairfax Economic Development Authority from 2012 to 2019.